“Boys don’t cook”

We’re doing presentations in class today and since the lesson from the textbook was instructions, I had the students write a simple recipe in English, then present it in front of class with some sort of visual — poster, PowerPoint, etc.

Did I know that some of the groups would consist of only boys?

Yes.

Was I worried about it?

No.

After one class, a JTE said to me: “There were many PowerPoints in that class.”

“Yes,” I answered.

“I suppose there were more boys who do them for science class.”

“Oh, PowerPoint presentations? That makes sense.”

“And boys don’t cook.”

Me: 

I guess they’ll be eating a lot of ramen when they get to university…

Leave a Reply

